Help

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

How does the Family Roll Call service work?

Family Roll Call subscribers register their email address and mobile phone number (optional) and select a Check In Time. Subscribers then add followers and select them to receive mobile phone text message and/or email alerts when the subscriber has not checked in by a certain time each day. Subscribers get a reminder message two hours before check in time if they have not already checked in for the day.

How do I check in?

Family Roll Call subscribers can check in using any of these four methods:

Website

  1. Sign into the website at https://familyrollcall.com.
  2. Click the round button on the "Check In" page.
The gray check mark on the round button will turn green if the check in was successful.

Mobile App
  1. Open the Family Roll Call mobile app on your device. Tip: Apple device users can command Siri: "Open Family Roll Call."
  2. Click the round button on the Check In tab.
The gray check mark on the round button will turn green if the check in was successful.

Reminder Texts
If "Enable Text Notifications" is selected within the "Settings" of your account, you will receive a reminder text message two hours prior to your check in time if you have not already checked in for the day. Within the text message is a temporary link to check in. Select the link and a browser page will open and confirm the successful check in.

Reminder Emails
You will receive a reminder email two hours prior to your check in time if you have not already checked in for the day. The email contains a temporary link to check in. Select the link and a browser page will open and confirm the successful check in.

What if I forget to Check In?

Two hours prior to Check In Time, you will receive a text and/or email like this:

Reminder_Text

If you still do not Check In by your Check In Time, your followers will be notified, and you will receive an alert like this:
You_are_missing

Once you Check In after going missing, your followers will receive a notification that you are OK and the alarm is cleared.
Do followers need to register? What do followers see?

No, followers do not need to register. They do not need an app or any special software. Followers receive a text message and/or email when a subscriber goes missing. For example, if the subscriber's name is "Derek," and he does not Check In by his Check In Time, his followers will see a text and/or email like this:

Derek_Missing

The followers can then attempt to make contact to ensure the subscriber is OK. When Derek finally Checks In, followers will see a message like this:
Cleared_Text

How many followers can I have?

You can have up to 5 followers.

Can followers opt out of receiving text messages?

Yes, followers can reply "STOP" to any alert text message from Family Roll Call to no longer receive text alerts from your account. Be sure to let your followers know that you are a Family Roll Call subscriber and you'd like their permission to be your follower.

Can I temporarily disable alerts?

Yes, under "Settings," select a date under the "Vacation Mode" heading for when you would like to resume service. Our subscribers typically suspend service when visiting family members during vacations.

Can I be reminded to check in before my followers are alerted?

Yes, we will send you a reminder email and/or text message, depending on your settings, if you have not checked in within two hours of your check in time.

Is there a mobile app? What functions does it perform?

Yes, there is a mobile app for iOS (iPhones and iPads) available in the Apple App Store and an Android app available in Google Play. After installing the mobile app, go to the "Settings\Pairing Code" page on the https://familyrollcall.com website. A pairing code will be generated and sent via email. Within the app, use your customer number and pairing code to link your mobile device to your Family Roll Call account. Within the app, you can:

  1. Check In/Clear Missing Alert/Clear Panic Alert
  2. Add/Edit Followers
  3. Change Account Settings
    • Check In Time
    • Vacation Mode
  4. Activate Panic Alert - Immediately alert all followers. If permissions are granted on the mobile device to use location services, a link to a map with the subscriber location will be included with panic alerts.


mobile_screenshot

Why did I receive an alert at a different time than expected?

In addition to selecting the desired Check In time, remember to choose the correct time zone in the "Settings" area of the website or mobile app. It's helpful to scan for a major city that you know is in the same time zone:



TIP: Be mindful of your followers when choosing a Check In time. Followers will be alerted at the Check In time if you are missing.

Will my subscription automatically renew?

Yes, after one year, your subscription will automatically renew. You will be contacted if payment information needs to be updated. Changes in credit card expiration dates are typically updated automatically by your credit card company. You can always check the credit card associated with your account on the Settings>Order History page.

How do I cancel my subscription?

Click the "Cancel Subscription" button under Settings>Order History. You will still be able to use the Family Roll Call service until the end of your current subscription period.

How does the panic feature work on the mobile app?

Though not a core feature of our daily check in service, the Panic tab within the mobile app allows a subscriber to immediately alert all followers that the panic alert has been set. If permissions are granted on the mobile device to use location services, a link to a map with the subscriber location will be included with panic alert texts and emails. Authorities are NOT notified, just followers. Panic alerts can be cleared by pressing the Check In button on the Check In tab. Followers are alerted when the panic is cleared. We encourage our users to notify their followers ahead of time if they wish to test this feature.

Panic_tab

How should international mobile phone numbers be formatted?

Phone numbers outside the United States should be formatted with a plus sign (+), country code, area code, and phone number. Any leading zeroes on the country code or area code should be removed. For example, a UK number such as 020 7183 8750 should be formatted as +44 20 7183 8750.

Why is there an annual fee?

As a service, there is an on-going cost to send mobile text messages and emails through trusted providers. To ensure your privacy and the best delivery quality, we only partner with the industry's best providers that work with mobile phone carriers and email providers. The $14.95 annual subscription ensures we can maintain this quality of service and provide the best subscriber and follower messaging by allowing us to pay our vendors and sustain and upgrade our platform.


Contact Us